Rinks of Lady and Gents bowlers from the within the Gareloch area, and out with the area gathered at Helensburgh Bowling Club to play in the ever popular Open Mixed Rink Competition on Sunday 18th September commencing at 10.00am, the weather was excellent as sixteen rinks of players from as far away as  Ardrishaig assembled for the competition which is very generously sponsored by, James Auld Funeral Directors.
After the section games which were played over 7 ends the following rinks qualified to play each other in the Semi Final finals with the results as shown:
The winners of the Red Section: Susan Cameron, Joy Farrow, Alasdair Cameron and Gordon Stephen MBE  from Helensburgh/ Cove qualified to face  the best Runners Up from the Blue section  Alec Moffat, Rona Jay, Bobby White and Robin Cavana from  Helensburgh in the Semi Final. Both rinks were really up for this game and the Gordon Stephen started well scoring a three before the Robin Cavana scored three over tow ends to level the score. The Gordon Stephen rink the edged ahead again scoring
another tow to lead by 5 shots to 2. Robin’s rink pulled 1 back to go into the last end trailing by 5 shots to 4 however Gordon,s rink scored a single at the last end to qualify for the final
The winners of the Blue Section Barbara Robertson, Helen Lawrie, Roger Jones ( all Helensburgh) and Lenny Prow ( Dumbuck)  qualified to meet the Green  Section Winners Elaine Greenshields, Wilma Gilchrist, Don Greenshields and Jim Gilchrist from Barremman BC. The Lenny Prow Rink started the game with a bang and quickly sped into a 9 shots to 2 before Jim Gilchrist and his rink pulled it back to 9 shots to 5 but it was to no avail as the Lenny Prow rink qualified for the final.
Runners Up 2016 webIn the final  Lenny Prow and his team again started with a bang and were 3 shot to 1 up after three ends, both teams were playing excellent bowls, however the game was effectively won in the fourth end when Lenny and his team scored a four and they went on to win the trophy in 2016 by a comfortable margin.
After the final club President Eric Wallace thanked all the players for taking part in what was an excellent attendance for the competition. President Eric on behalf of James Auld then presented the Trophy and Prizes to the Winners and Runners up  and Losing Semi Finalists. On completing the presentation the President thanked Jin Auld for his continued valuable support for many Winners 2016 webyears and hoped this would continue in future for this enjoyable competition.

The President also thanked all the players for taking part

The pictures show:

The winning rink from left to right Leonard Prow (Skip), Barbara Robertson. Helen Lawrie and Roger Jones
The Runners up from l to r Alasdair Cameron, Joy Farrow, Susan Cameron and Gordon Stephen MBE Ski