The 2016 series of Club Finals at the club commenced on Saturday 13th August
The Ladies Championship final brought together two previous winners of the Trophy Wilma Hannah and Muriel Galt. Wilma started by far the best and soon raced into a lead of 13 shots to 3, the unlucky number seemed to Give Muriel the urge to fight back and she did scoring 9 shots over 4 ends to bringChampions Advertiser web the score to 13 shots to 12. Wilma then regained the upper hand to move off the 13 mark scoring 8 shots over the next 4 ends to deservedly win her 7th Championship by 21 shots to 12.
The Gents Championship final feature Alan Air a 4 times previous winner against Nick Cudby appearing in his first championship final. Nick was not fazed by his opponent’s previous success and after 7 ends the score stood level at 4 shots all. Alan then gained the initiative scoring 6 shots in four ends to lead by10 shots to 4 after 11 ends Nick responded by adding 4 shots to his score over three ends to narrow the gap to only two shots at 10 shot to 8 and went on to take the lead after 19 ends at 15 shots to 14 after nineteen ends. Alan fought back to make the scores level after 21 end at 16 shots each before Alan added the crucial 5 shots to take the Championship by 21 shots to 16 for his 3rd success in the competition
Ladies Senior Champion 2016 webIn the Ladies Senior Championship last years winner Jill Dacombe faced a lady Susan Claisse who despite being in the game for a relatively short time has shown great skill. Susan was first to get a score on the card before Jill came back to lead 5 shots to 2 after seven ends still held the lead by 8 shots to 6 after 10 ends. Susan then took command of the game scoring in the next six ends to win the championship by a well deserved score of 21shots to 8.
In the Gents Senior Championship Iain Macleod, a previous winner, came up against Gordon Stephen MBE who qualified for this competition for the first time this year. Gordon started very well and led by 8shots to 6Gents Senior Champion 2016 web after 6 ends. Iain tied the game at 8 shots all at the eight ends  and took the lead and held it until the 19th  end when Gordon scored a 3 to level the game at 1`6 shots each. The game was level again at end 21, both players on 19. Gordon then clinched the title scoring 2 shots in the final end to win a great game of bowls by two excellent players  by 21 shots to 18.
The Gents Muirhead Handicap final brought together two seasoned players at the club George Sneddon and Bill Reaney who opened his account at the first end by scoring 1 shot and quickly sped into a lead of 9 shots to 1 after 7 ends. George then started his come back as he pulled back the deficit and went into the lead by 18 shots to 12. Bill  had fight in him yet and scored 4 shots in 2 ends to 16 however George was not letting up and he scored the three shots needed to retain the trophy he won last year.
In the gents Presidents final Keith Tait a previous winner faced Hugh Murray. Hugh opened the scoring and was 3 shots up after two ends before Keith opened his account and went on to lead by 8 shots to 6. Hugh responded by levelling the score at 8 shots all and was playing good bowls but Keith had a marvellous game and was able to match and better the Hugh on the day and won the trophy by 21 shots to 9
The Club Finals continued on Sunday 14th August
In the Ladies Presidents Final, Jill Dacombe faced Muriel Galt. Jill set of looking for her first win and had 6 shots on the card before Muriel responded scoring 4 shots over two ends and from this point Jill held the lead but their was never too much in the game and after 17 ends she led by 13 shots to 9. Muriel then went on a run scoring 8 shots in successive end to lead by 17 shots to 13. Jill added 3 more shots to her total but Muriel went into the final end leading by 2o shots to 16 and in this end secured the trophy by scoring the 1 shot needed.
The Gents McIntyre two bowl final between the newly crowned champion Alan Air and Luke Healy saw Alan start in champions form and built up an early lead of 10 shots to 3. Luke was not for giving in and reduced the deficit to only 2 shots with the score at 12 to 10 against him. Alan then went on a bit of a run adding 7 shots to his total before winning the trophy by 21 shots to 12
In the Ladies Nominated Pairs Final Barbara Robertson and Patricia Mc Callan faced the seasoned campaigners  and holders Annette Christie and Liz Fraser. At the start of this game their was nothing between the two teams  with the Christie/ Fraser pair leading by 7 shots to 5 after 6 ends, their experience playing together was evident as they were never behind and ultimately retained their trophy by 21 shots to 10
The Exorna Mixed Singles trophy was also played on the Sunday as Gary Mackie Faced Roger Jones. Roger started with a bang and shot into an early lead of 8 shots to 3 before Gary went on an amazing scoring run over 8 ends by adding 11 shots to his total. Roger did respond reducing the deficit to 2 shots when the score stood at 21 shots to 12 against him before Gary started another run to add the 7 shots needed to win the title.

The Pictures show
Club Champions Wilma Hannah and Alan Air
Ladies senior Champion Susan Claisse
Gents Senior Champion Gordon Stephen MBE